Our Primary Curriculum

At Holy Trinity our primary phase curriculum is based on the Mastery approach. Mastery aims to develop a deep, long-term and adaptable understanding of a subject. Among the by-products of developing mastery, and to a degree part of the process, are a number of elements:

  • Fluency (rapid and accurate recall and application of facts and concepts)
  • A growing confidence to reason
  • The ability to apply knowledge to solve problems, to conjecture and to test hypotheses.

The Primary Phase covers Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) (ages 3-5) Key Stage 1 (ages 5-7, years 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2 (ages 7-11, years 3, 4, 5 & 6).

In  Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 we teach phonics by use of the “Read Write Inc” Phonics scheme. For more information about phonics please follow the link below.

Long Term Plans

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 2